Recommend A… First Book in a Series


“Recommend A…” is a meme started by Shanyn at chickloveslit. Every Monday, there will be a new theme inspiring many different, awesome book recommendations. It’s a great way to allow those books we love (but sometimes miss) to resurface.

This week’s prompt is:
Recommend A… First Book in a Series.

Few people I know have read this series (which surprises me because it’s the reason why Meg Cabot is one of my go-to authors today), but I recommend Shadowland, book one in the Mediator series.

shadowland (the mediator) - meg cabot

Suze is a mediator — a liaison between the living and the dead. In other words, she sees dead people. And they won’t leave her alone until she helps them resolve their unfinished business with the living. But Jesse, the hot ghost haunting her bedroom, doesn’t seem to need her help. Which is a relief, because Suze has just moved to sunny California and plans to start fresh, with trips to the mall instead of the cemetery, and surfing instead of spectral visitations.
But the very first day at her new school, Suze realizes it’s not that easy. There’s a ghost with revenge on her mind… and Suze happens to be in the way.


The Medaitor books were the first Meg Cabot books I ever read, and one of my earliest young adult series. I actually stumbled upon book five, Haunted, in the library, and checked it out, not realizing that there were more books before and after (six in total) or that I’d end up loving this book so much that I’d immediately devour the rest the second I had the chance.

I don’t know how to describe it — the Mediator series is just fun. Suze is a snarky, kickass New Yorker just trying to deal with her life (the helping ghosts part of it, and her new life in California with her new step brothers and step father), and Jesse is one of my favorite fictional male characters ever (intelligence, old-fashioned gentlemanly manners, and a delicious Spanish accent – what more could you possibly want?). I love the challenges she faces, the realistic way her relationship with her new family develops, the struggles she faces in school, and especially, the way her romance/non-romance with Jesse de Silva is handled.

“Forbidden” relationships might have a certain appeal in young adult literature today, but few of them actually make sense to me, and rarely do I care for the characters involved. However, Meg Cabot handles Suze and Jesse’s intimacy well, making sure both characters are well aware of their circumstances and boundaries, and the very fact that a relationship between a 19th century ghost and a living girl is pretty much a (near) impossibility.

Shadowland is the first book in a series of hilarious, witty, exciting books. The “mediating ghosts” concept might not seem so original now (there are tons of films with similar premises), but the books contain an awesome cast of characters, and Suze’s experiences with “the Shadowland” are still worth checking out. If you’re looking for a light, entertaining novel (or a pretty Spanish ghost boyfriend), I definitely suggest you pick this book up immediately!




Aimee

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Somer
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 00:57:15

    I hate to admit this, but I have never read a Meg Cabot book! How about you read Blood Red Road and I’ll read Shadowland? :) I don’t know why I haven’t read one of her books before, because I have only hear good things…

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 01:02:36

      Woah, really? All her books, whether paranormal or contemporary, are fun, quick reads, and I can’t go a summer without reading one of them. You should totally check out some of her stuff!

      And sure, it;s a deal! :D (I’m actually off to the library tomorrow, so I’ll look for Blood Red Road!)

      Reply

  2. poetrytoprose.com
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 01:27:50

    Ahhh, yes, I totally devoured this entire series in pretty much a day or two a few years ago. I haven’t read any recent Meg Cabot books, but this series is definitely a special one to me!

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 18:51:11

      I haven’t read her recent series, but the Mediator series is special to me for the same reason. (I’ve actually thinking about rereading it because it’s been years since I have.) Glad to hear you’re a fan too!

      Reply

  3. Adina
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 03:47:04

    I’ve never come across this series before. It sounds fun thought :)

    Reply

  4. Mary @ mysistersbookshelf
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 10:12:58

    I love these! Good pick! It made me realize I totally should have gone Princess Diaries!!!!!! For some reason I thought of fantasy immediately. But fantasy + Meg Cabot awesomeness = The Mediator series. So your pick is perfect!

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 19:10:47

      Thank you! Haha, I thought about doing the Princess Diaries too, but I figured more people had heard of those books, and I wanted to recommend something that was less known/under-appreciated. I do really love And she’s also less known for her fantasy/supernatural stuff, so I was looking for an awesome book of that genre to recommend. Glad you’re a fan too!

      Reply

  5. cortchan
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 11:40:28

    I loved this series so much! I just had a post about the Mediator series not too long ago and how much I loved Jesse: http://courtneyreadsalot.blogspot.com/2012/07/a-blast-from-past-mediator-series.html. I loved this series and the 1-800 series. I’m happy you loved it too!

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 19:27:11

      Glad to run into another fan of this series! I really wish more people knew about it because it’s so awesome, and Jesse is amazing. (And I’ll totally be checking that Jesse post out – he’s one of my favorite YA male characters of all time.) The 1-800 series (along with her new series, Abandon, are the only books of Meg Cabot’s I haven’t read. I’ll definitely have to pick those up some time soon.)

      Reply

  6. Renae @ Respiring Thoughts
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 12:21:01

    I used to be really obsessed with Meg Cabot, and I always saw the Mediator books at the library, but I somehow never picked them up. I do like her “older” books a lot better than her more recent novels.

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 19:22:29

      I used to be really obsessed with Meg Cabot too, and I totally agree, a lot of her older books are more interesting than her newer ones. The Mediator books are probably one of her first series – if you ever need a quick summer series that’s both fun and exciting, you should totally give them a try!

      Reply

  7. Becky B.
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 12:36:42

    Awesome choice, I love this series so much too, especially Jesse. :) This along with The Princess Diaries were some of the first young adult series I read too.

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 19:30:43

      Thanks! I actually almost recommended The Princess Diaries for the same reason, and I had to debate who I wanted to talk about more, Jesse or Michael. Both awesome, of course, but Jesse (and this story) won out in the end. XD

      Reply

  8. Joie @ Joie de Lire
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 15:34:55

    Great pick! These are my favorite Meg Cabot books and Suze is such an awesome character! :)

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 19:32:33

      Thank you! They’re my favorite Meg Cabot books too! And yes, Suze is one of my favorite protagonists ever. I kind of wish there were more kickass YA heroines in books these days because few of them seem to even compare to Suze.

      Reply

  9. megtao
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 17:21:57

    I haven’t read this series, but I’m trying to read all of Cabot’s books, so hopefully I’ll get to this one. I think my library is missing some of the books, so I may end up buying them. WE SHALL SEE.

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 19:05:03

      Yayyyyy! Oh man, Meg, I can’t wait for you to meet Jesse. He was one of my earliest “book boyfriends” and he kind of sold me onto Meg Cabot way back when. (And I’m realy excited that you’re finally reading her books! They’re such perfect summer reads.) If you can’t find a copy though, let me know and I’ll be happy to help!

      Reply

  10. Amanda @ Late Nights with Good Books
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 18:49:17

    I remember reading the Mediator series years ago! I absolutely adored them! I haven’t really read too many other of Meg Cabot’s books, but this series is definitely quality.

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 30, 2012 @ 19:42:25

      A lot of Meg Cabot’s other books are pretty good, but few of them compare to the Mediator series, even though they’re some of her earliest books, in terms of story and characters. It’s great to run into another fan! (I wish more people knew/read these books!)

      Reply

  11. Helen Kiaya (@HelenKiaya)
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 23:42:09

    YES. Love this series so much! It mixes my favorite things – ghost stories, Meg Cabot, and hot boys. :D

    Reply

  12. Jen @ Almost Grown-up
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 00:23:30

    Total honesty, I BARELY remember this series because it’s been so long… but I remember that I adored it. Meg Cabot wins at life.

    Reply

Leave a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

