Recommend A… Book Published in 2010


“Recommend A…” is a meme started by Shanyn at chickloveslit. Every Monday, there will be a new theme inspiring many different, awesome book recommendations. It’s a great way to allow those books we love (but sometimes miss) to resurface.

This week’s prompt is:
Recommend A… Book Published in 2010

One of my favorite 2010 novels is Rachel Cohn and David Levithan’s Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares.

dash and lily's book of dares - rachel cohn and david levithan

“I’ve left some clues for you. If you want them, turn the page. If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across NY? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?


I’ve been a fan of David Levithan and Rachel Cohn’s collaborations since Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, but I have to say I love Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares more because it’s exactly the kind of book I relate to, the kind of story I’d love to make my reality. Just imagine: you’re in your favorite bookstore (For Dash, this is The Strand. I’ve only been there a handfull of times, but it is incredible, and I doubt I’d be able to find things as well as Dash did – The Strand is like a maze within a maze, books piled on the shelves, beautiful but a little bit impossible…) and you’ve discovered a stranger’s moleskine notebook with little literary challenges scribbled within, a bookish scavenger hunt of sorts. One of your favorite books by one of your favorite authors is the answer to a riddle, and you’re stunned because this mysterious writer-of-challenges might probably understand you a little better than your wacky bunch of friends. So you’re intrigued, you complete all of the dares, and then you leave a challenge for that person as well. Just to see how far this goes. The bookish challenges become dares of wit and dares of courage, and pretty soon, you’re in a merry-go-round of nerdy flirtation with a person you’ve never met, who is actually quite different from you, but may share some part of your soul. Though it’s a huge risk, I love the idea of meeting people through books. And meeting people through a journal with scribbles about books in one of the most amazing bookstores in the country is pretty awesome.

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares takes you on the perfect adventure – literary, witty, random, and just a little insane. (It’ll also make you want to leave notes in books, a la Nerdfigteria, and hope you meet your soulmate the next time you’re in a bookstore, even indirectly.)



Aimee

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. megtao
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 10:13:49

    I plan to read ALL the David Levithan books, and now I’m especially looking forward to this one🙂

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:15:44

      I’m actually SO behind on my David Levithan book list too (this needs to be remedied immediately)! But this one is just SO fun, and it’s the kind of thing I’d love to do in a bookstore. Or a library. (Though I’d probably end up choosing Harry Potter as my book to lead boys to, and instead of “if you’re female, put the journal back on the shelf, please”, I’d say something like, “if you’re a female or a boy under the age of 23, put the book back on the shelf please”. Just for… obvious reasons. ><;;;; Or I'd ask them to write essays about the marauders because otherwise, there will just be too many people responding and I'd never find my Dash.)

      (LOL, can you imagine a boy having to answer the question, "HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT JAMES POTTER?"

      Reply

  2. Mary
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 10:48:55

    I really like this pick. Especially since I feel like that book really is very 2010 (not in a bad way). And I love the NY hipsterdom🙂

    Reply

  3. Elisquared
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 14:47:01

    Oh this is such a lovely book! Really great choice; I love all of Rachel Cohn’s and David Levithan’s books, but this one is especially good!

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:19:01

      Thanks! And that’s exactly how I feel too. A Rachel Cohn-David Levithan novel has yet to disappoint me. I think the reason why I liked this one more than the others, though, has to do with the role books and bookish adventures play in it. I can’t wait to see what these two awesome authors come up with next!

      Reply

  4. megan
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 15:52:53

    I meant to read this when it came out! I should go back and pick it up.

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:20:35

      Yes! Definitely go pick it up! I almost missed this one when it came out too (I didn’t even know it existed until I stumbled upon it randomly at the library) and I was surprised by how fun it was, and how much I ended up loving it. It’s my favorite Rachel Cohn-David Levithan novel, so I wholeheartedly recommend it!

      Reply

  5. Somer
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 16:00:02

    I am reading Cohn and Levithan’s first collaboration right now: Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist! Loving it a lot, so I definitely need to pick up Dash and Lily!!

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:23:08

      Ahh! Nick and Norah was one of my favorite novels when it was first published (as much as I love Kat Dennings, the film doesn’t do it justice). I’m glad you’re loving it! My favorite aspect was the role music plays in that novel. Dash and Lily is just as fun, also an adventure like Nick and Norah, but the theme isn’t music this time – it’s books. Both are quite awesome, so I hope you love them as much as I do!

      Reply

  6. Briana
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 19:59:14

    I’ve seen this book around, and I think it looks absolutely fascinating, even though I don’t read a lot of contemporary. I’ve also only very recently made my way to The Strand, so now I would actually know what the characters are talking about!

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:26:13

      My sister actually isn’t a huge fan of contemporary either, but she really loved this one. I think it’s the story, as well as the characters, that make Dash and Lily such a fun novel. I love nerdy characters, and I’d love to go on bookish adventures, so it was a win for me. And I loved that it took place at The Strand (isn’t it such a cool bookstore?). I hope you give it a shot!

      Reply

  7. Shanyn (@shanynlee)
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 13:07:45

    I almost recommended this one, so I’m glad you did! I thought it was really fun, and especially great for a winter/holiday read! Thanks for participating this week🙂

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 10, 2012 @ 18:32:19

      That’s exactly how I felt too! I actually reread this last December because it really does make the perfect holiday book. (And no problem! My blog’s fairly new, so this was actually my first meme. I had a blast, and I’ll definitely be participating in future weeks! Thanks for creating such a fun feature!)

      Reply

  8. Jennifer A
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 14:27:18

    You know, I keep hearing about this book. It sounds pretty interesting! Thanks for the recommendation!🙂

    Reply

    • aimee
      Jul 10, 2012 @ 18:29:34

      It is! It’s such a fun, light read! (though I’d recommend you read it in the winter, since it’s actually all about the holidays.) I really hope you check it out! (:

      Reply

Leave a comment.

