[Fantastic Five Friday] Five Favorite TV Relationships


Exam prep, research, and applications are monopolizing my time these days, so I apologize for the lack of reviews or posts in general. I’ll be here regularly towards the end of October, but until then, I hope you bear with me. I do, however, have an awesome Fantastic Five Friday post for you today!

fantastic five friday “Fantastic Five Friday” is a weekly meme hosted by Anna @ The Weekly Enthusiast. Each Friday a new list will be posted about five things related to television and film. You can join in on the awesomeness even if you don’t have a blog by commenting on Anna’s FFF post here.

This week’s topic is:

Five Favorite TV Relationships

(I’m leaving anime off this list, not because I don’t want to count it as television, but because I have too many anime ships I ship and also, because you’re probably sick of seeing Usagi and Mamoru on every list ever.)


5. Marshall Eriksen/Lily Aldrin (How I Met Your Mother)

marshall eriksen & lily aldrin - how i met your mother

“…I realized the perfect moment wasn’t some needle lost in the haystack of their ten years together. The perfect Lily and Marshall moment happened two nights ago. Turns out, all week long he’d been sneaking out to a hotel on 72nd, to meet Lily. And so Lily and Marshall failed in their experiment with apartness, but they succeeded in getting Lily into her dress. You know, there really are a million things I could tell you about Lily and Marshall, but really, the only thing you need to know is that ten years into their relationship, they still couldn’t spend a single night apart.”


Marshall and Lily have the kind of relationship I want. They’ve been together ten years, and yeah, they sometimes argue and get into fights, but there is also a deep understanding between them, and you’d have to be blind not to see that they truly love each other. Hell, they even break up one season, and it’s obvious that the only person either of them really wants to be with is each other. If you look at their cute nicknames for each other (Marshmallow and Lilypad!), their adorable traditions (lunch time phone calls, traveling city six packs and welcome home signs, etc.), and how… in sync they are with each other, they basically define “adorable”.

4. Cory Matthews/Topanga Lawrence (Boy Meets World)

cory matthews & topanga lawrence - boy meets world

“…Then when I was 13, she put me up against my locker and she kissed me. I mean, she gave me my first kiss. She taught me how to dance. She was always talking about these crazy things and I never understood a word she said. All I understood was that she was the girl I sat up every night thinking about, and when I’m with her I feel happy to be alive. Like I can do anything. Even talk to you like this. So that’s… what I feel. Is love, Mom… When I’m better because she’s here.”


Cory/Topanga was probably one of my first television ships. Like Marshall and Lily, these two belong together, but also, like Declan and Holly J, they keep each other balanced. Cory’s a hopeless romantic, and Topanga’s more level-headed. Together, they’re a little too cute, but what’s not to love about that?

cory matthews and shawn hunter - boy meets world The only other relationship I really adored in this show (even more than Cory and Topanga’s) was Cory and Shawn’s, only because their bromance transcended everything (social norms, class differences, romantic entanglements, etc.), and even Topanga knew not to come between a boy and his best friend/not-related-but-still brother.


3. Leo Wyatt/Piper Halliwell (Charmed)

piper halliwell & leo wyatt - charmed

“Remember when I told you you just have to trust me? This is the only way…”
“The only way? Piper…”
“I have to lose you to save you… It’s just a screwed up destiny and you kind of got caught in the middle. I’m so sorry.”
“It’s alright. We’ve been through worse…”
“No….. we haven’t.”
“We’re going to get through this.”
“Of course we will.”
“I love you.”
“I love you, too.”


Though I hate that no one lets them be happy, I love relationships that defy the odds because they are just that strong, that stable, that much more epic. Piper and Lep had me from their season one days of adorable flirtation to their challenging the Elders and being together no matter what, to their facing their own trials with Leo as an Elder and depression and never getting a break from the supernatural beings constantly disrupting their lives. I love that even when they’re enduring issues, it’s obvious they still care about each other, that in the end, it’s Piper and Leo who primarily carry on the Halliwell line. He supports her as her Whitelighter guardian, but also as her husband, her best friend, and he also knows when to step aside and let her be the awesome, powerful witch she ends up being.

2. Declan Coyne/Holly J. Sinclair (Degrassi: The Next Generation)

declan coyne and holly j sinclair - degrassi

“You have to help me. I need the deets on Holly J. Sinclair.”
“The Dragon Lady of Degrassi? Why?”
“Because she says I don’t know her, whatever that means. I have her on Facebook, her Twitter I.D.”
“You’re digging up info on the internet? Bit pathetic for you.”
“What? She’s amazing, Fi. She’s a yellow belt in Tae Kwon Do.”


Degrassi seems to have a neverending, revolving door of ships, but Declan and Holly J are the ship that most stole my heart (and the one ship I strongly supported that actually, partially off-screen but still within canon, made it). I love that he’s awful with relationships because his last attempt ended with his heart smashed, but he’s still willing to pursue and court her (seriously, there is no other way to describe the way he continuously asked her to give him a chance), and I love that initially, she crushed on him but turned him down knowing his reputation. So I have a thing for characters who are intelligent and clearly attracted to each other, but won’t easily go out with each other for reasons (I call it the Lily Evans/James Potter Complex), but all of this aside, seeing Declan and Holly J as an actual couple who communicated well, had random fashion shows with sunglasses and hats in the street, and bonded over all the nerdy things makes it easy to fall in love with them. She helps him stay focused and supports his goals/projects; he helps her relax and have fun instead of drowning in structure and perfectionism all the time. They just balance each other out really well. (And seriously, how can you not fall for a guy who skips to a strawberry stand with you, constantly offers you helicopter rides because he does not understand normal dating, and loves to lift you from the ground to slow-motion-while-spinning-kiss-in-the-air you?)

1. Michael/Nikita (Nikita)

mikita - nikita


“Micheal, I’m not going to hurt you.”
“Really? You know, my shoulder’s still sore from where you shot me.”
“And then I saved your life.”
“Then I saved yours.”
“Great. Co-dependant relationship.”



I only started watching Nikita (review here) a few months ago, but Michael and Nikita quickly climbed to the top of my “MUST SHIP” list. Because how could I not when even in the first episode, Michael is hesitating attacking her, as ordered by his boss, and basically lets her get away, and then Nikita turns around and shoots him (slightly, on the shoulder) to make it look like he actively attempted to do his job? I love the fact that in season one, though they can’t be together for numerous reasons (Michael is high up in Division because he owes his life to it, and Nikita wants to take Division down), there is so much sexual tension between them, and it’s obvious that they care about each other deeply, even when they’re aiming weapons in each other’s faces. There’s also a trust between them, and even when they’re “enemies,” they’re constantly saving each other and thinking about each other and unable to do each other serious harm (unless they think the other has somehow betrayed them). Though the relationship changes in season 2 because of circumstances, its nature remains the same. Michael and Nikita are there for each other no matter what, obstacles and missions be damned, and they maturely find ways to make it work, whatever it takes. (They also kick some serious ass when they’re on the same team.)

Honorable Mentions

Tommy Quincy/Jude Harrison (Instant Star)

jude harrison & tommy quincy - instant star


“Look, working on a song… it’s like falling in love. At first it’s a rush, but then it gets painful and sometimes you gotta walk away.

But sometimes you come out with something beautiful.”


If you knew me when Instant Star was still on the air, then you know that I shipped Tommy and Jude insanely. They’re on the “honorable mention” list, however, because I had to find a way to stick them on this list somehow they’re (somehow) not a ship at the end of the show (Instant Star’s OTP has always been Jude/music, so I should have expected it, but it doesn’t make this show’s end any easier to accept). I shipped Tommy and Jude since the first episode, when she made fun of him for once being a member of a boyband, and he tried to push her to make better, more personal music. Their flirtation is on and off for the better half of the first season, and he even dates her sister to get her out of his head (because of the age difference, and the fact that he’s her producer), until they finally allow themselves to deal with those feelings and start a relationship. Record labels, closet skeletons, and friend drama keep the on-and-off relationship thing alive, but it’s obvious by the second to last episode that they were going to end up together, even after Jude/music continued to grow, because I don’t know, I don’t think independence/.musical growth and love had to be thrown against each other. But I guess that’s just me, Epitome Pictures. (This is where I plug everything Alexz Johnson because the girl can sing, and her music is amazing.)

Chad Dylan Cooper/Sonny Monroe (Sonny With a Chance)

chad dylan cooper & sonny monroe - sonny with a chance

“Hey. I see you finally made it.”
“Chad? What are you still doing here? I thought you’d be the first to go.”
“Which is exactly why I had to be the last to go.”
“Chad, you were right. All proms end in disaster.”
“Do they, Sonny? Do they really? Because sometimes, I heard you get to have that perfect dance with that one special person. You’re just going to have to settle for me.”


Yet another couple that stole my heart, whose show was prematurely canceled, and who should have ended up together (especially because this show was on the Disney Channel, and if you can’t expect a happy ending there, where CAN you expect it?). I love the banter between Sonny and Chad – he liked her almost immediately because she wasn’t like the Hollywood girls he was used to – she was innocent, honest sincere, kind, in a way that was probably out of his league, despite the fact that he’s the established TV drama star. And she sees him for more than what he shows the world – he’s not just some shallow, self-absorbed, rude pretty boy; there’s more to him than meets the eye. So there’s a ton of sexual tension every time they clash, and when they finally get together, though they still have their arguments, they’re sickeningly adorable, in that way you can’t help but adore. I understand the ending, really I do, but I wish that Disney had added more because the Chad towards the end of the series is not really the Chad at the beginning, and… maybe I’m just a hopeless romantic, but I feel that he should have been able to apologize, prove himself, and win her over somehow.

Alek Petrov/Chloe King (The Nine Lives of Chloe King)

alek petrov and chloe king - the nine lives of chloe king

“You were here the whole time?”
“Of course. You asked me to.”


The Nine Lives of Chloe King was one of those shows that I wish had been promoted better because it was canceled after only ten episodes, and despite its sort of campy-ness, I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the characters and this ship that only kind of happened, but definitely would have (or so I tell myself) once it gave the characters more time to develop. I can’t put into coherent words what I love about this ship. He trains her, he’s essentially her bodyguard and despite his arrogant/cocky attitude, he believes in her and he trusts her, even when he’s concerned about her safety and he thinks she’s not keeping her guard up enough. He’s risked his life for her several times, and underneath the excessive flirtation is just a guy who cares about a girl, but doesn’t want to throw his heart out there too much because she’s not sure how she feels, and he doesn’t want to get hurt. (Until he takes a chance and gets hurt anyway.) *sigh* Alek Petrov, you deserve happiness. And Nine Lives of Chloe King, you deserved better.

Amy and Rory Pond (Doctor Who)

amy and rory pond - doctor who

“2,000 years. The boy who waited. Good on you, mate.”


I am incredibly behind in my Doctor Who watching, which is why I’m not writing an essay on how epic I find the Ponds, but ugh, I blame Angel @ Mermaid Vision Books for the fact that I am hopelessly infatuated with the boy and girl who waited, and I’m looking forward to falling in love with them even more (when I finally have the time to catch up with this awesome show).



Aimee

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Samantha
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 06:11:07

    Ugh so many ships here that I love! And *sigh* Chalek… why couldn’t you have your happy ending?😦

    *runs off to make my list while it’s still Friday*

    Reply

    • aimee
      Sep 20, 2012 @ 17:45:58

      UGH YES. SERIOUSLY. CHALEK DESERVED THAT HAPPY ENDING. Especially since Chloe wasn’t even sure what she was feeling anymore, and she was partially clinging to Brian just because he was ALWAYS AROUND (I sound like a broken record, but ugh, that guy just needed a life). *sighsighsigh* I really want ABC Family to make that Nine Lives film, but the more time that passes by, the more I’m convinced it’s just not going to happen.:/

      You never made your list! ):

      (PS. CATCH UP ON NIKITA SO I CAN FLAIL WITH YOU BEFORE THE NEW SEASON STARTS IN OCTOBER.)

      Reply

  2. Adina
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 07:12:20

    Oh Alex and Chloe, I so wanted them to get together. Pity the show got cancelled.

    Reply

    • aimee
      Sep 20, 2012 @ 17:48:22

      I KNOW, RIGHT? They were so perfect for each other! (Chloe just needed to realize it!)

      It was confirmed last year that a movie to close up the series was being pitched/written to ABC Family, but no one knows if it got accepted, if they’re going to film it, or anything. No one’s said anything about it since, but the idea to create one was passed around the network. I know, because it’s been a while, that it’s unlikely that such a film will ever be developed, but I really hope ABC Family decides to make it after all because I miss this cast and I want to see Chloe and Alek get together (and they’d be insane NOT to make that ship officially happen).

      Reply

  3. Christa Seeley (@ChristasBooks)
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 10:37:43

    I loved Alex and Chloe too!! And I wanted that show to keep going just so I could see them get together

    Reply

    • aimee
      Sep 20, 2012 @ 17:49:47

      YES. THIS SO MUCH. I actually spammed twitter the night the finale premiered just to help it trend, and I know I streamed the episode on their website so many times to help the numbers. Sadly, to no avail. I really hate that ABC Family keeps the blah shows, and cancels all their good ones. This one had so much potential, and this ship was amazing. (And I miss Benjamin Stone so much too.)

      Reply

  4. megtao
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 12:37:18

    Channy *sob sob sob sob*

    Reply

    • aimee
      Sep 20, 2012 @ 17:50:37

      ;_________;

      I still can’t watch an episode of SWAC, even if it’s a happy one with all the Channy flirtation, without wanting to cry because of how awfully Disney ended them.

      Reply

  5. LillyLilac
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 16:37:10

    I love Cory and Topanga as well and I think they were also one of my first ships as well. I also loved the friendship between Corey and Shawn as well and I really want to rewatch Boy Meets World now because I remember loving it and I haven’t been able to watch it in a while.

    I Declan and Holly J so much and I agree they are the best Degrasi and I’m so glad they ended up together even if it happened off screen(I’m behind on Degrassi by quite a bit, I think I’m half way through season 10). Anyways I agree with everything you said about those two and I especially like the mention of the skipping off to the strawberry stand.

    I love Chad and Sonny I think those two were perfect for each other and I pretty much only watched the show because I loved those two together. I haven’t watched the episode when they broke up because I heard that they broke up and that show wouldn’t be making anymore new episodes so I decided that I rather skip the episode and be able to imagine that they’re still together.

    I really liked Chloe and Alek as well and I too wish that the show would have lasted longer especially since the finale was so good and was full of plot twists. I also just really liked their relationship and I thought they were best together since they could actually kiss each other.

    I love Amy and Rory as well because I think it’s impossible not to since they just love each other so much and are perfect for each other. I also need to catch up with Doctor Who as well. I also made a list of my favorite tv couples as well.

    Reply

    • aimee
      Sep 20, 2012 @ 18:03:56

      Mine too! I know they get a lot of criticism for being “cheesily unrealistic”, but they are one of the sweetest ships ever,and what’s wrong with loving a couple that luckily managed to find each other when they were children, persevered through break ups and adolescence, and continued to stay together as friends and as lovers? I don’t think there is a sweeter ship than Cory and Topanga, and there are even less boys who are as considerate and romantic as Cory Matthews, and that’s probably why they’re just so easy to ship.

      I’m so glad you love Declan and Holly J too! I don’t know many people familiar with them or Degrassi (and most people familiar with Degrassi ship original characters more than later ones, so they’re not really familiar with season 9 at all), but ughhhh, they are just so perfect for each other. I’ve actually watched all the episodes of Degrassi, including the newest season, and I was an avid Sean/Emma shipper for years, but something about Declan and Holly J managed to win me over immediately (I still love Semma, but yeah, Dolly J is just amazing), even more so than Sean and Emma. And Landon Liboiron and Charlotte Arnold have so much chemistry that it’s impossible to look away whenever they’re on screen together. There’s a controversial Declan/Holly J storyline in season 10, actually, after the break up episode (which made me cry so much because Declan’s face is so heartbreaking), but even that won’t stop me from shipping them. –Haha, sorry, I still have all the Declan/Holly J feelings. But yeah, Holly J’s final episode zooms in on a letter and flowers she got from Declan wishing her well, and telling her that he loves her, and she told Fiona in season 11 that he was the only one she ever truly loved, and they’re in contact later on in season 11 too when she visits Fiona from Yale, so it’s basically obvious the writers made them endgame but couldn’t get Landon Liboiron to guest star in an episode because he was filming other stuff at the time.

      Oh man, I wish I had skipped the Channy break up episode too. Or the Channy Remains Broken Up But Sonny Misses Him and Chad Looks Longingly At Her Door and Ponders Apologizing More episode. Which was, in a way, worse because they could have thrown them back together and fixed it, but they didn’t and then the show got canceled.:/

      Yes to Amy/Rory and Chalek!

      I’m dying to see which couples made your list!

      Reply

  6. Anna the Weekly Enthusiast
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 10:16:44

    I’m a firm believer of “SHIP ALL OF THE SHIPS!!!” This list is amazing!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment.

